Torrance Violent Crimes Defense Lawyer
What Is a Violent Crime in California?
The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation defines a violent crime as any action involving force or threat of force. This definition includes a range of offenses, from assault and battery to murder and manslaughter. Additionally, courts may consider certain crimes, such as domestic violence and hate crimes, as violent offenses.
California law is tough on violent crimes, and many superior courts try cases instead of municipal or justice courts. A conviction can come with severe penalties that impact a person’s life for many years. Do not hesitate to contact an attorney if you have been charged with a violent crime in California.
Michael D. Shook, Attorney At Law, has 30+ years of experience defending clients in Los Angeles County. To schedule a free case review and find out what he can offer you, reach out today.
Penalties for Violent Offenses in California
Convictions for violent offenses in California can result in hefty penalties. A person may have to serve prison time and pay fines or restitution. Depending on the circumstances of a crime, penalties may also include community service, rehabilitation programs, or parole.
Misdemeanor violent offenses generally result in up to a year in jail and $1,000 in fines.
For felony violent offenses, judges can deliver sentences that include up to four years in prison and $10,000 in fines. Those previously convicted of a violent felony will face enhanced penalties.
Convictions for a violent crime can have serious long-term consequences beyond sentencing. Individuals with felonies or misdemeanors often have difficulties securing housing or applying for jobs. Additionally, should a court find a person guilty of a violent crime that is sexual, they may have to register as a sex offender.
California’s Statute of Limitations for Violent Offenses
Certain serious violent crimes have no statute of limitations in California, such as murder. The statute of limitations for other violent crimes varies. For example, the period for domestic violence is five years, while the period for assault with a deadly weapon is three years. If you are facing charges for a violent offense and have questions about the statute of limitations, consult with Torrance violent crimes defense attorney Michael D. Shook.
Constructing a defense against a violent crime charge is tricky, but Attorney Shook has the knowledge and skill for the job.
- Consult medical professionals to determine whether the plaintiff’s injuries and the alleged assault correspond. Any discrepancies are something he can highlight in court.
- Contend that the defendant acted in self-defense or to protect another person. This strategy can potentially secure reduced charges or have them dropped.
- Examine and present video or witness evidence that conflicts with the plaintiff’s claims.
No matter the situation, Attorney Shook takes the time to hear client stories. Then, he tailors individualized defense strategies informed by his knowledge of what works and what does not in Los Angeles County criminal courts.
Speak with a Los Angeles County Violent Crimes Defense Lawyer Today
Should you be under investigation for a violent crime or face charges already, you are likely wondering where you can turn for help. Put your case in the hands of a highly experienced violent crimes defense lawyer in Torrance, Michael D. Shook. To speak with him about the details of your case and how he might be able to serve you, fill out this online contact form. Attorney Shook’s services are affordable, and clients have the option to set up payment plans.
You can reach our office at (310) 361-2977.